Parkway Events Every Weekend

Discussion in 'Fairmount / Spring Garden / Francisville' started by Jim19130, Apr 11, 2017.

1. Jim19130

Jim19130 Well-Known Member

Dear Mayor Kenney and Councilman Clarke:

I am a 25 year resident of 2200 Brandywine Street, Philadelphia, a former assistant district attorney for the city and currently a federal prosecutor here. I am writing to complain about the sheer number of events now occurring in front of the Art Museum and along the Parkway from March to November. I respectfully request that serious consideration be given to identifying ways to moderate the number of such events and to ameliorate the significant problems associated with scheduled events.

I along with many in the Art Museum neighborhood realize we are fortunate to be near a world-class museum and public park. It is wonderful to invite friends and relatives to visit here and take in what the Parkway and Museum have to offer. We also realize the positive impact many events have on the city.

However, over the past 5-7 years, the sheer number of groups permitted to have walks, runs, half-marathons, marathons, parades and other events in front of the Museum, in and around the Museum circle, along the Parkway and along the river drives has created significant hardships on residents in Fairmount and Spring Garden. The frequently of these events has now come to lower to qualify of life for residents, particularly on weekends.