Is Pittsburgh more business-friendly than Philadelphia?

Discussion in 'Philadelphia Business' started by NickFromGtown, Aug 8, 2013.

1. NickFromGtown

NickFromGtown Well-Known Member

This article surely seems to be a puff piece (and ironically sponsored by Toyota), but it begs the questions: is Pittsburgh better situated than Philadelphia for technology job growth and, if so, why? Is there a way to accelerate our own growth given the number of universities in the area and relatively cheap cost of living?

ToyotaVoice: The Surprising Rebirth Of America's Industrial Centers - Forbes

2. Jayfar

Jayfar Junior Old Fart

3. loveisnoise

loveisnoise Well-Known Member

It's only about 10,000 times friendlier to business when compared to philly.

4. Giavella Water

I've been hearing great things about Pittsburg for the last thirty yrs. There mustbe something in Delaware river water that makes our politicians act the way they do.

5. eldondre

eldondre Well-Known Member

Philadelphia, though, has a leg up on plenty of cities as well in terms of research and churning out smart grads. Pittsburgh has found a way to convince them its a good place to stay and start a business. I do think that part of the answer is that yes, unless you're a food truck, it's a much better place to do business. no BPT, no commuter tax, just a payroll tax. I don't know enough about their bureacracy to say if it's less anti-business than Philadelphia's.

6. Tartan69

Tartan69 Pawn in game of life