Register
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ebyrnes is offline Member

Default Listing agent etiquette

Hi, I'm generally a fair person, but need some advice:

I bought my home from Agent A about 6 years ago; no sure that I was thrilled with the services, but she's a very nice lady and that counts for quite a bit with me.

I've been considering leaving PHL for a few years now, and finally have everything in order to do so. About six months ago, she took a look at my house to see what I needed to do to get it ready to be sold - more as a friendly-type thing than a formal process. She also said that she didn't think that I would get more than I paid for it, which isn't surprising, but obviously not welcome news. In discussing this with some neighbors, they said that they don't agree with her and that I should find a new realtor.

So here's my dilemna - is it fair of me to ask another agent to do a formal valuation of my home and if I like what they have to say, use them to list it? Or am I honor-bound to deal with the original agent, who did indeed give me informal advice? I don't know what is the norm, and just want to sell my casa for a fair price in as hassle free manner is possible (yep, I've got a few bottles of maalox at the ready since selling and buying is *never* easy).

TIA,
    e

toxigal is offline Senior Member

i think you would be stupid to not interview several different agents.

Laurie is offline Member

Yeah, I agree with Toxigal. If you didn't sign a contract with the original agent, I think it would be pretty short-sighted to go with her out of a sense of loyalty, especially since you say you weren't thrilled with the service you received in the first place.