Register
+ Reply to Thread
    megsmegs is offline Junior Member

Default New to PA (and Mt Airy)...car registration?????

Hi neighbors :)

I'm new to PA, moved here for a job at Penn and live in Mt Airy. After a frustrating half hour of poking around the PennDOT website, I think I have figured out how to get a PA drivers license (any suggestions on locations with shorter lines/wait times would be appreciated, though). Registering the car, on the other hand, is still somewhat of a mystery....

I don't think this can be accomplished at a PennDOT office, it looks like registration occurs at private shops/mechanics? Correct? Any suggestions on places to do this that are fairly inexpensive (since it looks like they set their own charges??)?

Do I need to worry about getting emissions done before registering, is this something that occurs concurrently with the registration, or what?

Any other tips/surprises I may encounter during this thrilling project?? I know I need PA drivers license and insurance before registering in PA, and my NM tabs don't expire until end of Feb so I have a little time.... thanks :)

toxigal is offline Senior Member

Welcome to PA and NW Philadelphia!

The steps:

1) go to DMV. Wait a long long time. Get license.
    2) register vehicle. Are you an AAA member? They had the lowest fees. Take with you: 1) License; 2) Proof of insurance; 3) Vehicle Title; 4) Vehicle (they will do a trace of the VIN)
    3) within 10 days of registering your vehicle it must be inspected.

Politburo is offline Senior Member

Welcome to the most ridiculous vehicle titling/registration/inspection system in existence.

You technically have to register your car within 20 days of moving here. But given the number of out-of-state plates I regularly see, this does not appear to be enforced.

Note that the inspection is a safety and emissions inspection. Check all of your lights, horn, wipers, tires, etc. to avoid a hassle.